World Hunger Year Harry Chapin Media Awards

Posted by on December 15, 2008

World Hunger Year Invites Entries for Harry Chapin Media Awards

Deadline: February 2, 2009

A program of World Hunger Year (, the Harry Chapin Media Awards were created to encourage the media to “tell the story of hunger and poverty.” The awards honor print and electronic media for outstanding coverage that positively impacts hunger, poverty, and self-reliance, and also honor work that focuses on the causes of hunger and poverty as well as the forces creating self-reliance.

The awards cover six media categories — Newspaper, Periodical (magazine or ezine), TV/Film, Radio, Photojournalism, and Books.

Entries for the 2008 Harry Chapin Media Awards must have appeared in the media between January 1 and December 31, 2008. International entries must be submitted in English.

The awards are cash prizes of $1,000 to $2,500 each. All entries must also include appropriate application fees.

Visit the World Hunger Year Web site for complete program information.

RFP Link:

For additional RFPs in Journalism/Media, visit:

More in "Miscellaneous"

Stay Current in Philly's Higher Education and Nonprofit Sector

We compile a weekly email with local events, resources, national conferences, calls for proposals, grant, volunteer and job opportunities in the higher education and nonprofit sectors.