Award for Media Outlets That Promote Service Learning

Posted by on September 15, 2006

[posted from RFP Bulletin]

Youth Service America to Recognize Youth, Organizations and Media Outlets That Promote Service Learning
Deadline: October 19, 2006.

Youth Service America (<a href=""></a>) will administer the 2007 Harris Wofford Awards, which are sponsored by the State Farm Companies Foundation (<a href=""></a>).
The awards recognize extraordinary achievements in three categories: Youth (ages 12-25), Organization (nonprofit, corporate, foundation), and Media (organization or individual) for actively contributing toward "making service and service-learning the common expectation and common experience of every young person."

Award Finalists will be honored and presented with an award of recognition at the 18th Annual National Service-Learning Conference in Albuquerque, New Mexico. The recipient in the Youth category will receive a $500 award for him/herself and a $500 award for the nonprofit organization of his/her choice. Travel arrangements, including airfare and accommodation, will be provided for each award recipient.

One award winner will be chosen in each of the three categories. Self-nominations are permitted.

The Youth Award will be given to one youth (aged 12-25) who is a legal resident of the U.S. and demonstrates exemplary commitment and action to involving his or her peers in service, youth voice, service-learning, or civic engagement activities. Youth nominees should be active in volunteering themselves, but even more so in helping to mobilize and inspire other youth. The nominee’s activities can be focused on the local, state, or national level.

The Organization Award will be given to a local, state, or national nonprofit organization, foundation, or corporation with a demonstrated record of activity and impact devoted to youth service, youth voice, service-learning, or civic engagement. Activities should clearly reflect efforts to increase the scale, effectiveness, and sustainability of the youth service and service-learning field.

The Media Award, chosen by a selection panel, will be given to a media institution or individual member of the media who makes a commitment to the importance of reporting accurately and comprehensively on youth and youth service issues (such as service, youth voice, service-learning, or civic engagement). Eligible media sources include newspapers, magazines, television, radio, or online news.

Visit the YSA Web site for complete program information and nomination forms.

RFP Link: <a href=""></a>

For additional RFPs in Children and Youth, visit: <a href=""></a>

More in "Grant Opportunities"

Stay Current in Philly's Higher Education and Nonprofit Sector

We compile a weekly email with local events, resources, national conferences, calls for proposals, grant, volunteer and job opportunities in the higher education and nonprofit sectors.