Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards

Posted by on May 17, 2002

[RFP Bulletin]

Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards to Honor Contributions to Understanding of Racism and Diversity

Deadline: January 31, annually

Created in 1934 by Cleveland poet and philanthropist Edith Anisfield Wolf, the Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards are designed to honor books that have made an important contribution to the understanding of racism and/or the appreciation of the rich diversity of human cultures. The awards, endowed through a fund at the Cleveland Foundation, are given each spring for books published in the previous year.

Only books written in English and published in the preceding calender year are eligible for the award. Plays and screenplays are not eligible, nor are works in progress or self-published works. Past winners have touched on such subjects as arts and culture, human rights, the effects of racism on children, and life in a multicultural society. Each winner receives a prize of $10,000.

For information on submitting a book for consideration, see the program’s Web site.

RFP Link:

More in "Miscellaneous"

Stay Current in Philly's Higher Education and Nonprofit Sector

We compile a weekly email with local events, resources, national conferences, calls for proposals, grant, volunteer and job opportunities in the higher education and nonprofit sectors.