2012 Guru Nanak Interfaith Prize

Posted on May 09, 2011

Nominations Invited for 2012 Guru Nanak Interfaith Prize
Deadline: July 1, 2011

Awarded by Hofstra University in collaboration with the Sardarni Kuljit Kaur Bindra Charitable Foundation, the Guru Nanak Interfaith Prize was created in 2008 to enhance awareness of the critical role of religious dialogue in the pursuit of peace as well as to provide direct support for the furtherance of such activities.

The $50,000 award is presented biannually to an individual or organization.

Any living individual or organization that the nominator believes has contributed to constructive dialogue and/or relations between faith communities is eligible for nomination. Nominees may be chosen on the basis of a single contribution or a lifetime of contributions. Nominators are encouraged to consider a wide range of activities. A nominee may, for example, have organized members of different faith communities to work toward a common goal; produced a work of art or literature that contributes to or publicizes the importance of interfaith dialogue; or used a position of authority or power to bring faith communities together.

A panel of judges composed of religious leaders, academics, and individuals known for their commitment to interfaith dialogue will consider the recent and career accomplishments of nominees. Award recipients must demonstrate extraordinary leadership, courage, and a capacity for inspiring in others a willingness to embrace the vulnerability that is the key to true religious dialogue.

For the 2012 prize, all nominations are due by July 1, 2011.

Visit the Hofstra University Web site for complete program guidelines and nomination procedures.


More Miscellaneous

Stay Current in Philly's Higher Education and Nonprofit Sector

We compile a weekly email with local events, resources, national conferences, calls for proposals, grant, volunteer and job opportunities in the higher education and nonprofit sectors.

Get the Update Delivered